Home > Movies > It All Ends Here

It All Ends Here

It’s that time of the year again: Harry Potter fever is in full swing, and I’ve caught the fever once again.

My interest in Harry Potter could most likely be referred to as an infatuation, but I personally don’t see anything wrong with it. Although I am in the middle of a movie marathon of the past six movies and I am re-reading the last book in preparation for my grand adventure to the midnight release, I am not nearly as obsessed as others. Feeling the need to spread this HP love, I’ve decided to get you up to date on the details of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One (Some spoilers ahead for those who haven’t read the books).

For those who are not avid readers and/or watchers unlike myself, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part One is the first half of the last Harry Potter book. This was smart move number one: there is just too much information in this novel to fit into one 2 and a half hour movie. To be specific, the first movie ends around Chapter 24, which is where Voldemort acquires the Elder Wand. This was smart move number two: it’s a tricky play when deciding where to split the book and I feel this part works well because David Yates, director, will be able to end the movie well enough so it doesn’t just stop but leave the audience thirsty for the next movie (which happens to come out July 15th, 2011).

Now this movie has had fan worried for a couple reasons. One reason is because this story is unlike any of the other books. No longer are Harry, Ron, and Hermione in the enclosed world of Hogwarts; now they are introduced to the harsh, real world. This involves a whole new filming style to go along with the change in atmosphere. Another concern was the fact that someone along the line had the brilliant idea of making the last two movies 3D. I, personally, am anti-3D and can’t stand the fact that everyone is jumping on the bandwagon to make an extra buck (I’m looking at you, George Lucas). It bothers me even more because none of the other six have been in 3D and it wouldn’t even be the “good” 3D, it would be the post-production “slapped on” 3D. Not what I want from my Harry Potter movie. Thankfully, someone at Warner Bros. had two braincells to rub together and they cancelled the 3D treatment for Part One. Hopefully this will make them realize that Part Two doesn’t need it either.

Getting back on path, Part One just recently had its red carpet premiere and the reviews are starting to pour in. As of now Part One currently stands at a solid 82% on Rotten Tomatoes. Despite some sour reviews, the majority are saying that Part One gives enough action to entertain while building up nicely for the grand finale in July. Music to my ears.

Needless to say, this is a pop culture phenomenon and everyone needs to get out and catch Harry Potter fever.

  1. Jofis
    November 17, 2010 at 10:58 am

    I still don’t get how the elder wand switches owners so simply.

  2. C.L. Anderson
    November 18, 2010 at 4:32 pm

    I’m catching the midnight tonight. Good timing on the article. Loved it.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

