Home > Movies > A Detailing of Hollywood’s Infatuation with Comic Books

A Detailing of Hollywood’s Infatuation with Comic Books

Batman. Superman. Spider-Man. X-Men. Iron Man. The Incredible Hulk. Captain America. Green Lantern. Thor. Fantastic Four…I could go on for ages. But do you know of Runaways? Iron Fist? Deadman? Fire? I pretty sure only the hardcore comic book enthusiast will have even heard of these books. Why bring this up? Because Hollywood has decided that comic book movie adaptations are the greatest things since sliced bread. Don’t get me wrong, I love a good superhero movie/movie based off of a comic book, but when does it become too much?

Superhero movies have been around for ages, but only recently has it become a major portion of all the movies being produced. It seems like now that movies are either comic book movies, remakes of old movies, normal book movies, or real life stories. Nothing original. But that’s besides the point. Comic book movies are huge, and I love some of them. The Dark Knight is my second favorite movie ever (mainly because of Heath Ledgers performance) and The Watchmen is pretty high up there for me too. I loved that book and I like Zack Snyder and felt he did a great job with it.

I’m getting off track. I really don’t have a problem with comic book movies in general, it’s just the multitude of them coming out. Now I didn’t expect Hollywood to stick with the mainstays like Batman and Superman; they’re old hat. I just want them to calm down on the number of movies coming out. Is it really necessary to have three Iron Man movies, three Captain America movies, at least one Thor movie, another possible Hulk movie, and three Avenger movies (which all four are a part of)? Do we really need the three X-Men movies plus the movies that are being developed for individual X-Men? Plus we have Dark Knight Rising, Green Lantern, Green Hornet, Cowboys and Aliens, Scott Pilgrim, Kick-Ass, et cetera.

Am I the only one who thinks this movie looks f***ing retarded?

This brings me to the biggest bone I have to pick: remaking superhero movies when they were just released not too long ago and constantly changing actors. I really started to get mad about this when I heard that they were rebooting the Spider-Man series. Really? Raimi and Maguire left the series after the third one so they couldn’t continue on, so maybe it was time to give the spider a rest for awhile instead of instantly rebooting the series. It’s too freaking soon! The reboot is planned to be released on July 3, 2012, a mere 5 years after Spider-Man 3. People are still going to remember him as the Tobey Maguire Spider-Man by that time. And then there is Superman. We all know that Superman Returns was sort of a flop, but to already get another reboot? That guys had more movies than any other Superhero ever, except maybe Batman. I’m not nearly as mad about this one though because Zack Snyder’s directing it, so this time around it’ll actually be good.

Another series is the Incredible Hulk. Can you guys just not get a good actor for that guy? They had Eric Bana in 2003, then REBOOTED the series with Edward Norton and changed the story. And now Norton’s been replaced with Mark Ruffalo for The Avengers movie and any possible sequels. That’s just terrible planning there boys. Same sort of deal happened with the Punisher. The Punisher with Thomas Jane came out in 2004 and then they rebooted the series in 2008 with The Punisher: War Zone with Ray Stevenson. I don’t know about you, but I really liked the first one and would have loved to have seen a sequel to that, but they just can’t seem to keep continuity in Hollywood. Another up for the reboot treatment is The Fantastic Four, and well…I can’t really argue with that one; those movies just plain sucked.

All I’m trying to say here is that Hollywood just needs to calm down a bit here. I love me some good-vs-evil comic book greatness, but too much is too much. Just take a step back Hollywood. Oh yeah, and if you want to see a list of just about every whisper of a rumor of a comic book movie ever, go to IGN’s Ultimate Comics-to-Film Guide. It’s full of everything nerdy.

…And for the record, I’m more of a DC fan. Marvel is good, I just like DC more.

  1. Jofis
    December 21, 2010 at 10:20 am

    FIRST!!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

