Home > Movies, Rants > My thoughts on Inception and the Golden Globes

My thoughts on Inception and the Golden Globes

The 2011 Golden Globes have recently passed, airing just last Sunday. The Social Network, the drama about Mark Zuckerberg and how he came to create Facebook and the fallout that followed, got the most awards with a final total of four which included Best Original Score, Best Screenplay, Best Director, and Best Picture. Meanwhile, the miracle that is Inception received zero awards. None. Zip. Nada. Nothing. I didn’t personally watch the awards, but once I found out that Inception didn’t get a single award, I honestly became upset. For any of those who read my post on my Top 5 movies, Inception rings in at number 3. It is that damn good. Here’s why.

(Two disclaimers I want to make first: 1) there may be spoilers in here, so if you don’t want anything ruined, don’t read…or read cautiously at least. 2) I HAVE NOT seen The Social Network. I am very interested in seeing it and I’m sure it is a great movie, but I have not gotten the chance. I’m not going to compare the movies or blatantly trash-talk The Social Network, I simply want to explain why I think Inception is truly innovative and deserves the recognition.)

Why did you have to take all the awards!?

First and foremost, Inception is original. It is an original concept created by Christopher Nolan himself. Never has there been a movie like it. The complexity behind the dream state and the idea of being able to enter that state to steal ideas (or plant them there) is astounding, and Nolan seems to have every prospect of this idea thought out. The Social Network, though, is the first time anyone has every told the Facebook story, yes, but a movie idea that has been rehashed time and time again. Detailing the rise of a popular figure and the trials and tribulations they go through to get there. It’s been done before. The classic underdog story. They always make for a good movie and I enjoy them, but it was so refreshing to get something that had literally never been done before.

Secondly, Inception has a bad-ass cast. Leonardo DiCaprio, Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tom Hardy, Marion Cotillard, Ellen Page, Ken Watanabe, Cillian Murphy, Michael Caine, et cetera, et cetera. Christopher Nolan picks the best of the best, which is why his movies see some similar actors in each (Murphy and Caine were in The Dark Knight). DiCaprio does a fabulous job as the Dominic Cobb, (Spoiler alert!) successfully portraying his guilt for killing Mal (Marion Cotillard) and his gradual acceptance that he needs to let her go. Each actor fully does there part to become their character, displaying the emotions and actions that you would expect from each.

From Left to Right: Nolan, DiCaprio, Cotillard, Page, Watanbe, Caine, Gordon-Levitt, Murphy, Hardy

Last, but not least, this movie made me think. No, it made me care. Like the majority of moviegoers, when I first saw Inception, I was pretty confused, but I wanted to figure it out. And that right there is what makes this movie so good. It was so convoluted at first, but it managed to make me want to decipher the movie. I ended up seeing it five times in theaters (I was just in love with it too much, it didn’t take me five times to figure it out. And I work at the theater as well). I had detailed discussions (and some arguments) with friends and co-workers about what we thought happened at different points in the movie. We had several well thought out theories to explain what happened at the end. I was literally talking about this movie months after it came out. Too few do this for me. Christopher Nolan had grabbed my attention, wowed me, and left some food for thought; that is the main reason why I believe this movie deserves recognition.

Was it real or not?

  1. Jofis
    January 20, 2011 at 8:59 am

    The Social Network was good, but not worthy of beating out Inception for best picture. Having said that, if it didn’t win those pricks on the committee probably would’ve given it to Black Swan or that Rocky remake instead.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

