Home > Rants, Television > Media Effects Theory: Annoying Us All

Media Effects Theory: Annoying Us All

My roommates were watching Fox News earlier, and I might as well preface this post with a little disclaimer: I am politically moderate, so this isn’t a bash against any political ideology.  Anyway, they were watching Fox News today and conservative pundits went along and absolutely smashed this show called Skins.  It’s an adaptation of a British teen drama about a bunch of kids and their adventures including sex, drugs and the like.

These pundits went on, and on, and on some more about how this was going to corrupt society, and that this was more than just a show…

…just shut up.  Quit the hyperbole.

Ever since I’ve been in college, I’ve been fascinated by this theory: does violent media affect peoples’ aggressiveness, or does it temper it?  It’s an interesting question, but when you have people crying foul about a show that has homegrown controversy just because people don’t agree with it…that’s going to happen, but that doesn’t mean it’s going to change people.

My one roommate actually put it best.  Good parents will tell these children not to do what they see on TV, and that it’s not real.  This is why this is fiction, and the divide between reality and the fictional world is there.

I was raised in more of a conservative household, I would have to say.  My parents were never fans of me consuming violent material, but even when I did, I can’t say I was more aggressive.  Sure, I’m only one case, and it’s certainly not a sample size to say that this theory is a bunch of crap.  But I feel like if parents are just proactive enough, this theory should mean nothing.

The more and more pundits seem to blather on and on about stuff they don’t agree with, the more and more I hate the extreme marketplace of ideas.  Some people need to get their facts straight and calm the hell down.  Honestly.

I’ll give another example.  My grandfather was watching MSNBC frequently while I was staying with them over the summer, and every time they would start a segment of complete bitching, I said “I could dub over this with a baby’s cries, and it would be accurate”.

Peoples’ credibility goes down when they get angry and emotionally motivated, and this seems to happen on cable news networks on BOTH sides.  If these ideas were presented to not only me, but to everyone in a rational manner with plenty of time to get the facts out, I think we’d all be in business.

But it’s not.  It’s continual crying.

I just wish the pundits would shut up.  They’re not doing us any favors nor services.  I’m pretty sure the world isn’t going to end tomorrow, and society will still exist tomorrow.

Categories: Rants, Television
  1. Ryan M
    January 24, 2011 at 9:11 am

    People’s credibility goes down when they’re emotionally motivated…and they’re on a sketchy theory. If you’re worried about your nephew being kidnapped and you’re upset about it…I think you actually gain credibility, or at least people are more likely to listen to you due to your increased pathos.

    And as for the other thing…it’s all about parental involvement. If parents do their job (and don’t try to have TV or games do it) they’ll teach kids what’s real, what’s not, grab moments on TV and teach FROM that. “Do you think Jack Bauer did the right thing there or not?”

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

